Bertocchi 23: Northern Blues vs. Williamstown


Sam Kerridge will make his VFL debut among at least six changes for the Northern Blues this Saturday. (PHOTO CREDIT: Tim Murdoch)

The Northern Blues will make at least six changes in the Bertocchi 23 for its Round 2 clash with Williamstown.

Taking place at Preston City Oval on Saturday, half a dozen Carlton-listed players who featured in Round 1 against Port Melbourne will miss against the Seagulls.

Zac Fisher, Andrew Phillips and Cameron Polson are all named in the AFL side, while Matthew Korcheck, Ciaran Sheehan and Liam Sumner will miss through injury.

After 40 disposals in last week’s practice match, Sam Kerridge will make his VFL debut for the club after being named on a wing, while a number of Northern players are in line for their first senior games of the season.

Bertocchi 23

Sam Russell is a certain starter after being named in the back pocket, while Zach Ballard, Cameron Barrett, Sean Bolger, Kye Declase, Kane Keppel, Chris McCabe, Dyson Stevens and Glenn Strachan are all named on an extended bench.

Pending selection, Keppel could also make his VFL debut: Marcus Stavrou has retained his place as 23rd man for the second successive week.

Kristian Jaksch, Liam Jones and Patrick Kerr provide the height up forward, while Harry McKay could have a big task in the ruck battle against the in-form Nick Meese.

In total, there are 14 Carlton-listed players named, with the experienced Dennis Armfield and Alex Silvagni named alongside the likes of David Cuningham and Andrew Gallucci.

It will be Gallucci’s first game against his old side since kicking three goals in a triumphant 2015 VFL Grand Final.

The weekend’s game will be broadcasted live on Channel 7, with the bounce to come at 2:40pm. The Development game begins at 11:30am.

In Development action, Tim Jones will return to action after making a recovery from a bout of pneumonia.

  Northern Blues Development side


Chris McCabe

Bailey Jordan

Kye Declase


John Rafferty

Kane Keppel

Glenn Strachan


Sam Glover

Dyson Stevens

Fraser Pearce


James Corboy

Sam Peet

Zach Ballard


Cameron Barrett

Ben Casley

Sam Fowler


Sean Bolger

Tim Jones

Jack Mahon

Int. (from)

Carl Adams

Jayden Collins

Luke Collins

Dan Costanzo

Mitch Dawson

Jacob Duscher

Will Krithararis

Athiei Kur

Harrison Payne

Michael Romero

Matthew Walson