Bertocchi 23: Essendon vs. Northern Blues


The Northern Blues have named their preliminary extended squad to take on Essendon this Saturday. (PHOTO CREDIT: Tim Murdoch)

The Northern Blues have named a host of inclusions into an extended Bertocchi squad of 31 ahead of Saturday’s clash with Essendon.

Twelve players who didn’t feature in last week’s VFL match with Port Melbourne have been named, with a large portion of those named on Carlton’s extended bench.

David Cuningham, Nick Graham, Ciaran Sheehan and Alex Silvagni are the inclusions from Carlton’s extended squad, as they’ve been named on the extended bench alongside Blaine Boekhorst, Dylan Buckley and Liam Sumner.

The Blues also regain Harrison Macreadie, as well as a host of names who have been rewarded for their form in the Development side.

Bertocchi 23

However, Northern has lost Patrick Kerr and Cameron Polson to injury, while also losing Ciaran Byrne: the Irishman is in line to play his first Carlton game in 12 months.

Kerr will miss through a hip complaint, while Polson is out due to a shoulder injury.

The Northern Knights’ Alex Federico also comes out of the team, with his status as 23rd man taken by Mason Blakey, who made his VFL debut as Knights’ captain late in 2016.

The squad will be made more clear when it is cut down in line with Carlton’s final team announcement tomorrow evening.

With Kerr’s exclusion, Kristian Jaksch could be in line for a return to the forward 50 after being named at centre-half-forward in partnership with Harry McKay.

Northern’s in-form trio of Cameron O’Shea, Luke Russell and Tom Wilson are joined by exciting youngster Marcus Stavrou as confirmed starters for Saturday’s game.

The match will be broadcast live on Channel 7, and has had a changed start time: the game will now commence at 2:10pm.

  Northern Blues Development side


Chris McCabe

Kye Declase

Sam Russell


Glenn Strachan

Jesse Glass-McCasker

Sam Glover


Jake Bradley

Zach Ballard


Fraser Pearce


Andrew Gallucci

Jaylon Thorpe

Michael Romero


James Corboy

Bailey Jordan

Kym Lebois


Sean Bolger

Tim Jones

Dyson Stevens

Int. (from)

Carl Adams

Cameron Barrett

Daniel Costanzo

Deven Costigan

Mitch Dawson

Will Krithararis

Rob Maibaum

Joshua O'Brien

Harrison Payne

Sam Peet

John Rafferty

Matthew Walson