Awards on offer at the 2017 Laurie Hill Trophy

2017 Laurie Hill Trophy

On Friday night, the Northern Blues will celebrate the season that was 2017 with their showpiece night: the Laurie Hill Trophy.

Taking place in the Ballroom at Mantra Bell City, players will be acknowledged and rewarded for their efforts at both VFL and Development level.

A number of honours are on offer, headlined by the VFL best-and-fairest named in honour of Preston great, the late Laurie Hill.

Among the favourites for the senior best-and-fairest are VFL-listed trio Cameron O’Shea, Luke Russell and Tom Wilson.

Wilson enters the night as the current holder, having won his second Laurie Hill Trophy in three years 12 months ago.

Both the VFL and Development best-and-fairest awards are under the same system: three coaches vote their 5-4-3-2-1 after each game. The maximum votes a player can receive in one round is 15 games.

Among the other awards on the night are the Bullant Players’ Player of the Year, Oscar Lipson Award for the Best Clubman and the Best First-Year Player Award (supported by Matchworks).