Blues lock away four more

#Northbound 2

The Northern Blues can confirm the re-signings of Glenn Strachan, Chris McCabe, Fraser Pearce and Deven Costigan.

The quartet have been rewarded for strong 2017 campaigns and impressive starts to their pre-seasons with confirmation that they’ll be Blues once more this year.

McCabe and Strachan re-sign on the eve of their fourth years at the club, while Costigan and Pearce return for year two as Northern Blues.

Costigan is just starting out with life at Preston City Oval, having enjoyed a strong back-end to the year which saw him rewarded with a VFL debut.

Overcoming a delayed pre-season and then injury on the eve of his debut year, Costigan is now relishing a full summer and has been one of the chief eye-catchers throughout Northern’s summer.

McCabe has been a consistent performer for the Blues’ Development side in recent seasons, while also having a taste of senior football.

The skilful defender has been on the cusp of senior selection and will be looking to elevate his game to another level in 2018.

Pearce arrived at the Blues from Port Melbourne at the end of 2016 and made an impression in his first 12 months at the club.

He had a strong finish to the maiden season at the club with four senior games, and will once again hope to feature in the Blues’ midfield group.

Arriving in 2015, Strachan has 41 senior games — 34 with Northern — under his belt having started out at Collingwood’s VFL side.

The hard-running defender has been a pivotal member of the club’s leadership group, and has assumed the role of co-vice captain in his last two years.

The two join the young trio of Mason Blakey, Kane Keppel and Marcus Stavrou in the group of returning Blues locked away for 2018.

Stay tuned to for all the latest developments and exciting news on player signings in the coming weeks.

Confirmed 2018 Blues: Mason Blakey, Deven Costigan, Kane Keppel, Chris McCabe, Fraser Pearce, Marcus Stavrou, Glenn Strachan, Tom Wilson

New Blues: Ben Caluzzi (Calder Cannons), Max Dreher (Northern Knights) Alex Federico (Northern Knights), Sam Fisher (Sydney Swans), Josh Hill (West Coast), Jordan Lynch (Eastern Ranges), Brendan Myers (Wagga), Jesse Palmer (Port Adelaide), Ethan Penrith (Northern Knights), Jean-Luc Velissaris (Calder Cannons)