Laurie Hill Trophy preview

Box Hill Hawks vs Northern BluesBox Hill City Oval

Tomorrow night will crown the 2018 winner of the Laurie Hill Trophy. (PHOTO CREDIT: Tim Murdoch)

The newest Laurie Hill Trophy winner will be crowned at tomorrow night’s VFL/VFLW joint best and fairest night.

Taking place at Mantra Bell City, the Carlton VFLW and Northern Blues sides will collectively celebrate what was a historic 2018 for a number of reasons.

With a number of awards on offer, here’s what to expect on Friday night.

Laurie Hill Trophy
Named after Preston’s greatest player, the Laurie Hill Trophy is presented to the Northern Blues’ most outstanding and consistent player throughout the year. The voting system involves three coaches judging the best players on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis.

AFL-listed contenders: Nick Graham starred at VFL level when he was at Josh Fraser’s disposal, averaging just shy of 30 possessions per game. However, playing only eight games may cost him. Patrick Kerr was a reliable asset in the forward line, finishing with 20 goals, while first-year Angus Schumacher showed his potential.

VFL-listed contenders: Sam Fisher and Josh Hill’s strong finishes to the season will hold them in good stead, while captain Tom Wilson is vying for his third Laurie Hill Trophy. Jesse Palmer made the VFL’s Team of the Year after starring up forward with 27 goals. Mason Blakey is also a chance after playing every game this season.

Bullant Players’ Player of the Year
Accumulated over the course of the season, this award — for VFL-listed players only — is voted for on a week-by-week basis. In line with the Club’s values, the winner of this award will have lived the ‘ants spirit’ to a tee.

Oscar Lipson Bullants Spirit Award
In honour of the Club’s longest-serving president, the Oscar Lipson Bullants Spirit Award is given to the player who goes above and beyond the call of duty for the Club. Presented by the Northern Blues’ volunteers, this accolade centres around who embodies the term ‘best clubman’.

Matchworks Most-Improved Player
Replacing the Best First-Year Player Award, this honour speaks for itself. Presented by Matchworks, it’s given to the Northern Blues player who has worked hardest on their craft over the course of the season and has shown the results.