Northern announces 2019 list


The Northern Blues Football Club has confirmed its senior list for the 2019 season.

With Northern to return to the field for VFL action this Sunday, the Club held its Season Launch last Friday night, presenting the jumpers to all 30 players who will make up the list in 2019.

While player retention was a key focus for the Blues heading into the upcoming campaign, Northern was still able to add 14 new players, spearheaded by the three AFL additions: Kieran Collins, Alex Johnson and Jonathan O’Rourke.

Of the remaining new recruits, Northern’s recruiting drive was spread across the VFL, NAB League (formerly TAC Cup) and local football, mixing experience with youth for 2019.

Once again, the Club has added to its talent from the northern corridor, welcoming Joel Naylor and Oscar White from the Northern Knights. The duo is joined by Kye Quirk (Eastern Ranges) and Noah Wheeler (Bendigo Pioneers) as players who are fresh out of the NAB League.

Tom Wilson will once again provide the experience, as he’s joined by the returning Sam Fisher, Josh Hill and Jesse Palmer — the top four players in last year’s Laurie Hill Trophy count.

Pleasingly for the Blues, they make up a significant portion of the core players which have re-signed, including the likes of Mason Blakey, Kane Keppel and Marcus Stavrou.

While the Club has listed 30 players, there is the ability to add to the list at a later date. The Blues have named 10 players – listed below – as their train-on players for season 2019.

The Club has heeded the request of AFL Victoria that all VFL-listed players will wear jumpers from number 50 onwards, consistent with the rest of the competition.

To get acquainted with all of the players who’ll be wearing the Northern Blues jumper in 2019 and their jumper numbers, you can view their profiles here.

Final Northern Blues list

50. Tom Wilson, 51. Alex Johnson (Sydney), 52. Marcus Stavrou, 53. Jesse Palmer, 54. Jean-Luc Velissaris, 55. Jonathan O’Rourke (Hawthorn), 56. Arthur Armstrong (Lake Wendouree), 57. Ethan Penrith, 58. Daniel Costanzo, 59. Ben Caluzzi, 60. Josh Hill, 61. Kieran Collins (Western Bulldogs), 62. Chris McCabe, 63. Max Dreher, 64. Jordan Lynch, 65. Joel Naylor (Northern Knights), 66. Glenn Strachan, 67. Ben Hurley, 68. James El Moussalli (Coburg/Essendon VFL), 69. Sam Fisher, 70. Kye Quirk (Eastern Ranges), 71. Jarrod Walters (St Mary’s), 72. Noah Wheeler (Bendigo Pioneers), 73. Oscar White (Northern Knights), 74. Seb Williams (Frankston), 75. Frank Anderson (South Croydon), 77. Mason Blakey, 78. Fin Brown (Heathmont), 79. Tom Hart (Old Xaverians), 80. Kane Keppel

2019 rookies

Brody Bell, Sunny Brazier, Mitch Crapper, Tom Hallebone, Sam Harte, Zac Hudson, Mitch Kemp, Oskar Manton, Caleb Quirk, John Roumeliotis

Sign up today to become a Northern Blues member in 2019.