New duo signs on


The Northern Blues Football Club has welcomed two new signings for the 2020 season.

Tim Jones and Joe Richards will join the growing list for the Blues this year, adding depth to the midfield and forward lines respectively.

This is not Jones’ first stint with Northern, having played 17 games for the side in the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

Jones finished in the top five in the Laurie Hill Trophy in 2016, where he averaged over 20 disposals in his debut year.

Last year, Jones was crowned Montrose’s best and fairest in the Eastern Football League, with his VFL experience and contested ball-winning meaning he’s a vital addition to the Northern Blues’ midfield.

Senior Coach Josh Fraser said he was excited to have Jones back at the side after two seasons away from Preston City Oval. “Timmy Jones really burst onto the scene in his debut year at senior level: I think he managed 27 possessions in his first senior game. He was also our last Development best-and-fairest winner,” Fraser said. “When he wanted to give VFL footy another go, we had no hesitation bringing him back: he is more than capable on and off the field.” Meanwhile, the Blues have looked at one of the state’s finest young country players in the form of Joe Richards. A premiership player at the age of 17 with the Wangaratta Magpies, Richards has won two club best-and-fairest medals and kicked 11 goals in a single game at the age of 16.




View this post on Instagram


Perfect weather for training ???? ???? #Northbound A post shared by Northern Blues FC (@nbluesfc) on

His midfield and forward capacity will add much welcomed depth to the Northern side.

“Richards has played in a really strong league so he’s had good exposure to senior footy: we think he’ll offer our group quite a bit,” Fraser said.

“He’s quick, clean and has had a very strong pre-season: we are rapt to have him on board.”

2020 playing list

Returning: Mason Blakey, Kieran Collins, Alex Johnson, Kye Quirk, Noah Wheeler, Oscar White, Tom Wilson New Blues: Jake Bartholomaeus, Jordan Cunico, Cody Hirst, Tim Jones, Joe Richards