2019 Laurie Hill Trophy & VFLW Best and Fairest

WITH the Blues state league season coming to an end, attention now goes towards the VFL/VFLW joint best and fairest.

Taking place at Mantra Bell City on Friday 11 October, both the Carlton VFLW and Northern Blues sides will celebrate their respective 2019 seasons.

There will be a host of awards up for grabs, last season’s Laurie Hill winner Tom Wilson and VFLW Best and Fairest Darcy Vescio have both missed a lot of the season, who will take out the highest individual honour?

Tickets for the 2019 best and fairest are now on sale. 


VFLW Best and Fairest

The inaugural Carlton VFLW best and fairest was taken out by Darcy Vescio but who will it be in 2019? Across the course of the season, the senior coach, along with three assistants, vote for as many players as they feel warrant a vote for each game on the following scale:

Players’ Player of the Year
An award voted on by the players for the players, this award celebrates the on-field and off-field work. Focusing on leadership and professionalism, the Players’ Player of the Year is all about admiration from their peers.

Blue Bloods Award
In line with the AFLW best and fairest, the Blue Bloods Award is voted on by the coaches. The winner is determined as the player who upheld the Club’s values most consistently throughout the season.

True Blue Award
The True Blue Award is presented to a devoted staff member for their work over the course of the season.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 27: Frank Anderson of the Blues kicks a goal during the round 17 VFL match between the North Melbourne Kangaroos and the Northern Blues at Arden Street Ground on July 27, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Mike Owen/AFL Photos)

Northern Blues

Laurie Hill Trophy
Named after Preston’s greatest player, the Laurie Hill Trophy is presented to the Northern Blues’ most outstanding and consistent player throughout the year. The voting system involves three coaches judging the best players on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis.

Bullant Players’ Player of the Year
Accumulated over the course of the season, this award — for VFL-listed players only — is voted for on a week-by-week basis. In line with the Club’s values, the winner of this award will have lived the ‘ants spirit’ to a tee.

Oscar Lipson Bullants Spirit Award
In honour of the Club’s longest-serving president, the Oscar Lipson Bullants Spirit Award is given to the player who goes above and beyond the call of duty for the Club. Presented by the Northern Blues’ volunteers, this accolade centres around who embodies the term ‘best clubman’.

Instant Steel Solutions Most-Improved Player
Replacing the Best First-Year Player Award, this honour speaks for itself. Presented by Instant Steel Solutions, it’s given to the Northern Blues player who has worked hardest on their craft over the course of the season and has shown the results.

NBFC052 BestFairest